Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Service & FAQ

Are you interested in a doctoral program at the Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies? Here you will find everything you need to know at a glance!

Comprehensive information about our Graduate School and about admission to doctoral studies and matriculation can be found in our guidelines.

We accept applications for all five doctoral programs for both winter and summer admissions. The summer-semester starting date for doctoral studies is the first of April – for the winter semester the starting date is first of October.

If you wish to apply for admission in the summer semester, we request that you send in your application materials by the firstof September of the year before you wish to start.

If you wish to apply for admission in the winter semester, we request that you send in your application materials by the first of April of the year you wish to start.

Calls for applications are advertised on this website under the heading "Applications" and "News." BerGSAS also publishes its calls for applications in various national and international portals.

Please register on our portal https://application.berliner-antike-kolleg.org/bergsas. After you have received a password, you can upload your documents (including a letter of motivation, exposé with work plan, university transcripts, language certificates, letters of recommendation from your home university) by the specified application deadline. Please note: until you have uploaded all required documents, the application is not complete and will not be considered.

German (for non-native speakers):
DSH-2 recommended.

English (for non-native speakers):
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Proof of English language skills is not required for application and admission to doctoral studies at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Freie Universität Berlin: In order to be admitted to doctoral studies at the Freie Universität Berlin, applicants must as a rule provide proof of English language proficiency at level C1 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) (see the doctoral regulations of the respective department and the foreign language regulations of the Department of History and Cultural Studies). If you are unable to submit written proof of B2 at the time of application, it will be your responsibility to do so, without prompting, at a later date, but no later than upon admission. (IELTS Academics, TOEFL, Unicert, DAAD etc.).

Please note: As of October 22, 2020, the new doctoral regulations of the Department of History and Cultural Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin are in effect.

Your main thesis advisor must be a university teacher at either the Freie Universität Berlin or the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. But project-related cooperation with the Technische Universität Berlin, the Universität der Künste Berlin and the Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin is also possible. External advisors can serve as second or third examiners. A bi-national doctoral degree or a cotutelle de these (a doctoral degree from two universities) is also possible.

Important: the doctoral regulations for each faculty/department determine whether a given advisor is eligible to serve as a thesis examiner.

Doctoral studies begin in the winter or summer semester.

The doctoral program at BerGSAS lasts six semesters.

Each doctoral program at BerGSAS (ALT, AOViS, APhil/HistAS, LAA, Silk Road) has regulations that stipulate, among other things, which seminars have to be completed in the course of the program and what requirements the doctoral candidates are expected to meet. The curriculum for each program is outlined in § 11 of that program’s regulations.

BerGSAS has doctoral exchange agreements with the universities of Ann Arbor/Michigan; Boston (Harvard); New York; Oxford; Paris (École Normale Supérieur) and Princeton, which enable BerGSAS doctoral students to spend a semester at one of these partner universities. Places in these exchange programs are advertised internally among the doctoral students of BerGSAS. The application process is conducted entirely in English (incl. exposé and letter of recommendation).

Dissertations can be written in German or, if the relevant doctoral regulations (Promotionsordnung) permit, in another language (see below for further information).

The following applies to the Freie Universität Berlin: Further information can be obtained from the doctoral offices (Promotionsbüros) of the respective department.

The following applies to the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Doctoral students can write their dissertation in English subject to approval of their request to do so by the doctoral committee (Promotionsausschuss) of the relevant faculty. Writing in a language other than German or English is also always subject to approval of a request and is possible only at the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Philosophy, and the Faculty of Theology.

At the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, the doctoral degrees awarded are those customary in German-speaking countries, such as Dr. phil. or Dr. theol.

At the Freie Universität Berlin, persons who have successfully completed their doctoral work at the graduate school are awarded either the title of PhD or one of the titles customarily awarded in German speaking countries, such as Dr. phil., Dr. theol., Dr. rer. nat., Dr. jur. It is important to note, though, that while titles may be absolutely equivalent, such as PhD and Dr. phil., they are not interchangeable. You must choose one of the two titles, either PhD or Dr. phil.

Please bear in mind that it is not the graduate school that awards a title but the doctoral committee (Promotionsausschuss) responsible for the relevant faculty or department.

Every doctoral program has a student representative who gives voice to the interests and concerns of the doctoral students and supports the integration of students newly entering the program. They are elected for a two-year term. There are also interdisciplinary and inter-program forums that were created at the initiative of doctoral students and are organized and led by them.

The coordinators and program chairpersons are responsible for answering questions about doctoral programs and for advising. You can also get assistance from the student representatives and the representatives of the doctoral program. In cases of conflict, you can bring your concerns to the BerGSAS ombudsman.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ihre Fragen, unsere Antworten - und weitere Services

Sie interessieren sich für ein Promotionsstudium an der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies? Hier finden Sie alles Wichtige auf einen Blick!

Umfassende Informationen über unsere Graduiertenschule sowie über die Zulassung zur Promotion und Immatrikulation finden Sie in unserem Leitfaden.

Wir nehmen sowohl zum Sommersemester als auch zum Wintersemester Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in allen fünf Promotionsprogrammen auf. Der Beginn des Promotionsstudiums zum Sommersemester ist am 1. April – der Beginn zum Wintersemester am 1. Oktober.

Wenn Sie sich für eine Aufnahme zum Sommersemester bewerben möchten, bitten wir um Zusendung Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen bis zum 1. September des Vorjahres.

Wenn Sie sich für eine Aufnahme zum Wintersemester bewerben möchten, bitten wir um Zusendung Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen bis zum 1. April desselben Jahres.

Die Ausschreibungen sind auf dieser Website unter „Ausschreibungen“ und „Aktuelles“ zu finden. Die BerGSAS veröffentlicht ihre Ausschreibungen des Weiteren in verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Portalen.

Registrieren Sie sich in unserem Portal https://application.berliner-antike-kolleg.org/bergsas. Nachdem Sie ein Passwort erhalten haben, können Sie bis zum angegebenen Bewerbungsschluss Ihre Unterlagen hochladen (u.a. Motivationsschreiben, Exposé mit Arbeitsplan, Hochschulzeugnisse, Sprachnachweise, Empfehlungsschreiben Ihrer Heimatuniversität). Bitte beachten Sie: bevor Sie nicht alle erforderlichen Dokumente hochgeladen haben, ist die Bewerbung nicht vollständig und kann nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Deutsch (für Nicht-Muttersprachler): 
DSH-2-Kennnisse werden empfohlen.

Englisch (für Nicht-Muttersprachler):
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Für eine Bewerbung und Zulassung zur Promotion an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin ist der Nachweis von Englischkenntnissen nicht erforderlich. 

Freie Universität Berlin: Für die Zulassung zur Promotion sollen Englischsprachkenntnisse vom Niveau C1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) nachgewiesen werden (siehe die Promotionsordnung des jeweiligen Fachbereichs sowie die Fremdsprachenordnung des Fachbereichs Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften). Sollten Sie zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung keinen schriftlichen Nachweis über B2 haben, müssen Sie diesen bis zur Zulassung eigenverantwortlich nachholen. (IELTS Academics, TOEFL, Unicert, DAAD etc.). Der Nachweis des Niveau C1 kann dann nachgereicht werden.

Bitte beachten Sie: Seit dem 22.10.2020 ist die neue Promotionsordnung des Fachbereichs Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin in Kraft.

Die Erstbetreuerin/der Erstbetreuer muss Hochschullehrerin/Hochschullehrer an der Freien Universität Berlin oder der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin sein. Projektbezogene Kooperationen mit der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Universität der Künste Berlin und der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin sind ebenfalls möglich. Externe Betreuerinnen und Betreuer als Zweit- oder Drittgutachter sind zugelassen. Eine bi-nationale Promotion bzw. auch ein Cotutelle-Verfahren (Promotion an zwei Universitäten) ist ebenfalls möglich. Wichtig: Die Berechtigung von Betreuerinnen und Betreuern zum Begutachten von Dissertationen hängt von der jeweiligen Promotionsordnung der Fakultät bzw. des Fachbereichs ab.

Das Promotionsstudium beginnt zum Winter- oder zum Sommersemester.

Das Promotionsstudium an der BerGSAS dauert sechs Semester.

Jedes Promotionsprogramm der BerGSAS (ALT, AOViS, APhil/HistAS, LAA, Silk Road) hat eine Ordnung, in der u.a. geregelt ist, welche Veranstaltungen während des Promotionsstudiums zu absolvieren sind. Eine Beschreibung des Curriculums finden Sie in den jeweiligen Ordnungen zu den Promotionsprogrammen unter § 11.

Durch Abkommen über den Doktorandenaustausch mit den Universitäten in Ann Arbor/Michigan; Boston (Harvard); New York; Oxford; Paris (École Normale Supérieur) und Princeton können BerGSAS-Promovierende ein Gastsemester an einer dieser Partneruniversitäten verbringen. Diese Austauschplätze werden BerGSAS-intern ausgeschrieben. Das Bewerbungsverfahren wird vollständig in englischer Sprache durchgeführt (incl. Exposé und Empfehlungsschreiben).

Die Dissertation kann auf Deutsch oder ggf. in einer anderen Sprache abgefasst werden, sofern dies durch die jeweilige Promotionsordnung zugelassen wird.

Für die Freie Universität Berlin gilt: Weitere Auskünfte erteilen die Promotionsbüros des jeweiligen Fachbereichs. 

Für die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gilt: Die Dissertation kann auf Antrag der Doktorandin/des Doktoranden ggf. in Englisch abgefasst werden. Über Anträge entscheidet der Promotionsausschuss. Eine Abfassung in einer anderen Sprache als Deutsch oder Englisch ist ebenfalls nur auf Antrag möglich, und zwar nur an der Kultur-Sozial, und bildungswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, an der Philosophischen Fakultät und an der Theologischen Fakultät.

An der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin werden die im deutschsprachigen Raum üblichen Doktortitel verliehen wie z.B. Dr. phil. oder Dr. theol.

An der Freien Universität Berlin wird den Absolventinnen und Absolventen einer Graduiertenschule entweder der Titel PhD verliehen oder die im deutschsprachigen Raum üblichen Titel Dr. phil., Dr. theol., Dr. rer. nat., Dr. jur. Wesentlich ist, dass Titel wie z.B. PhD und Dr. phil. vollkommen gleichwertig sind, aber nicht austauschbar. Sie entscheiden sich für einen der beiden Titel, also entweder für PhD oder Dr. phil.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass nicht die Graduiertenschule einen Titel verleiht, sondern der zuständige Promotionsausschuss der Fakultät bzw. des Fachbereiches.

Jedes Promotionsprogamm hat eine studentische Vertretung, die für die Belange der Promovierenden einsteht und die Integration der Neuaufgenommenen unterstützt. Sie wird für jeweils zwei Jahre gewählt.  Außerdem gibt es fächer- und programmübergreifende Foren wie den Theorie-Lesekreis und einen Stammtisch für GIS-Interessierte, die auf Initiative von Promovierenden geschaffen wurde und von diesen organisiert und gleitet werden.

Für Fragen zum Promotionsprogramm oder bei Beratungsbedarf sind die Koordinatorinnen und die Programmbeauftragten zuständig. Sie finden auch Unterstützung bei den studentischen Vertreterinnen und Vertretern des Promotionsprogramms. In Konfliktfällen können Sie sich an den Ombudsmann der BerGSAS wenden.