Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Doctoral programs of the Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies

The doctoral studies programs are interdisciplinary designed and pursue various thematic core areas. In addition to developing expertise in their chosen field, doctoral students acquire basic theoretical and methodological skills. One of the things that make BerGSAS unique is its capacity to accommodate virtually all specializations in ancient studies and supplement these with training in neighboring disciplines that also study topics relating to the ancient world. Imparting a praxis-oriented approach is another primary concern of our graduate school.

Ancient Languages and Texts (ALT)

The doctoral program ALT focuses on literary texts from ancient cultures as well as documentary texts like inscriptions and papyri. Philological as well as cultural and historical questions are at the center of interest.

Ancient Objects and Visual Studies (AOViS)

The focus of the doctoral program AOVis is on ancient artefacts with regard to the conservation, archiving, museological presentation and digital preparation. An additional focus is on "images" as a medium of communication in antiquity.

Ancient Philosophy/History of Ancient Science (APhil/HistAS)

The doctoral program APhil/HistAS is dedicated to ancient philosophy and the special sciences that developed in the ancient Mediterranean, their interrelationship, their historical context as well as their later impact in the Arabic speaking world and the modern era.

Landscape Archaeology and Architecture (LAA)

Central to the doctoral program LAA are the research fields: landscape archaeology and building history. The thematic focus deals with various methods, research strategies and techniques for the modelling and reconstruction of ancient structures and landscapes.

Languages and Cultures of the Silk Road (Silk Road)

Doctoral students in the Silk Road program study philological phenomena and questions from the fields of archaeology, religious studies and/or cultural studies of the geographical area that encompassed the ancient Silk Road. Fields participating in the program are Iranian Studies, Turkic Studies, Central Asian Studies, Central and East Asian Archaeology and East Asian Art History.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Die Promotionsprogramme der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies

Die Promotionsprogramme sind fachübergreifend angelegt und verfolgen unterschiedliche inhaltliche Schwerpunkte. Neben der Vertiefung fachlicher Kompetenzen werden grundlegende theoretische und methodische Fertigkeiten vermittelt. Einzigartig ist dabei, dass nahezu alle Spezialisierungen in altertumswissenschaftlichen Fächern bedient werden können und ergänzt werden durch Nachbardisziplinen, die sich ebenfalls mit antiken Themen befassen. Die Vermittlung eines praxisorientierten Ansatzes ist darüber hinaus ein wichtiges Anliegen der Graduiertenschule.

Ancient Languages and Texts (ALT)

Im Zentrum des Promotionsprogramms ALT steht das schriftliche Erbe der antiken Kulturen, das nicht nur die literarischen Werke, sondern gleichermaßen dokumentarische Texte wie Inschriften und Papyri umfasst.

Ancient Objects and Visual Studies (AOViS)

Im Vordergrund des Promotionsprogramms AOViS stehen antike Artefakte unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Konservierung, Archivierung, musealen Präsentation und informationstechnischen Aufbereitung. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bilden "Bilder" als Mittel der Kommunikation in der Antike.

Ancient Philosophy/History of Ancient Science (APhil/HistAS)

Die thematischen Schwerpunkte des Promotionsprogramms APhil/HistAS liegen in der antiken Philosophie und den Einzelwissenschaften, die sich in der Antike im Mittelmeerraum in der Antike entwickelten, ihrem gegenseitigen Verhältnis, ihrem historischen Kontext sowie ihrer späteren Nachwirkung im arabischsprachigen Raum und in der Neuzeit.

Landscape Archaeology and Architecture (LAA)

Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Promotionsprogramms LAA sind die Forschungsfelder Landschaftsarchäologie und Baugeschichte. Der thematische Schwerpunkt liegt bei verschiedenen Methoden, Forschungsstrategien und Techniken zur Modellierung und Rekonstruktion antiker Baubefunde und Landschaften.

Languages and Cultures of the Silk Road (Silk Road)

Das Promotionsprogramm Silk Road befasst sich mit philologischen Phänomenen sowie Fragen aus der Archäologie, Religions- bzw. Kulturwissenschaft des geographischen Raums, der die antike Seidenstraße umfasste. Beteiligte Fächer sind Iranistik, Turkologie, Zentralasienstudien, Vorderasiatische Archäologie und Ostasiatische Kunstgeschichte.