Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ancient Philosophy/History of Ancient Science (APhil/HistAS)

The program "Ancient Philosophy and History of Ancient Science" is dedicated to ancient philosophy and the ancient sciences, their methods, their intellectual and philosophical foundations as well as their practical applications in their social and cultural contexts. The main sources are scientific and philosophical texts, but also scientific instruments and other forms of material evidence. Specific philological reading competences and methodological skills for the study of ancient philosophy and the sciences are central components of the program.

The program is divided into two curricular paths, which are selected before the beginning of the doctoral program: while the path Ancient Philosophy is concerned with ancient philosophy in the stricter sense and with the more general, intellectual and theoretical aspects of the ancient sciences, the path History of Ancient Science comprises the more philological, historical and archaeological aspects of ancient scientific theories and practices and their social and cultural contexts.

A major contribution to the program is made by the DFG funded Research Training Group Philosophy, Science and the Sciences, which is devoted to the dialogue between philosophy and the sciences in Graeco-Roman and Arabic thought and their reception in the modern era.

Members of the managing committee

Prof. Dr. James Wilberding (HU) (chairman)
Prof. Dr. Gerd Graßhoff (HU/MPIWG)
Prof. Dr. Bernd Roling (FUB)
Dr. Carmen Marcks-Jacobs (academic associate and coordinator for HistAS)
Hendrik Liermann (HU) (coordinator for APhil)
Sinem Kilic M.A. (student representative)

Departments and institutes connected with the doctoral program

Freie Universität Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Information on requirements for admission as a doctoral student in your chosen field can be obtained from the relevant doctoral office (Promotionsbüro) of the relevant faculty (at the Humboldt-Universität) or department (at the Freie Universität). Please bear in mind: the doctorate regulations of the relevant faculty/department determine whether persons chosen to act as supervisor are eligible to serve as reviewers of the dissertation.

You can find more information in the FAQ.

Ancient Philosophy/History of Ancient Science (APhil/HistAS)

Im Programm "Ancient Philosophy and History of Ancient Science" werden neben der Philosophie im engeren Sinne auch die antiken Wissenschaften, ihre Methoden, intellektuellen und philosophischen Grundlagen sowie ihre praktische Anwendung in ihren gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Kontexten diskutiert. Forschungsgegenstand sind wissenschaftliche und philosophische Texte, aber auch wissenschaftliche Instrumente und andere materielle Zeugnisse. Zentrale Elemente des Programms bilden spezifische philologische Lesekompetenzen und methodische Fähigkeiten, die für die Auseinandersetzung mit antiker Philosophie und Wissenschaftsgeschichte erforderlich sind.

Das Programm verteilt sich in zwei curriculare Pfade, die vor Beginn des Promotionsstudiums gewählt werden: der Pfad Ancient Philosophy beschäftigt sich mit der antiken Philosophie und den eher allgemeinen, intellektuellen und theoretischen Aspekten der antiken Wissenschaften; der Pfad History of Ancient Science umfasst die eher philologischen, historischen und archäologischen Aspekte antiker wissenschaftlicher Theorie und auch Praxis sowie ihre gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Kontexte.

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Programm liefert das durch die DFG geförderte Graduiertenkolleg Philosophy, Science and the Sciences, das den Dialog zwischen Philosophie und den Fachwissenschaften im griechisch-römischen und arabischen Denken sowie ihre Rezeption in der Neuzeit zum Thema hat.

Geschäftsführende Kommission

Prof. Dr. James Wilberding (HU) (Beauftragter)
Prof. Dr. Gerd Graßhoff (HU/MPIWG)
Prof. Dr. Bernd Roling (FUB)
Dr. des. Ricarda Gäbel (FUB) (akadem. Mitarbeiterin)
Dr. Philipp Strauß (HU) (Koordinatorin für APhil)
Dr. Carmen Marcks-Jacobs (Koordination für HistAS)
Sinem Kilic M.A. (HU) (studentische Vetreterin)

Mit dem Promotionsprogramm verbundene Institute und Seminare

Freie Universität Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Beim Promotionsbüro der betreffenden Fakultät (an der Humboldt-Universität) bzw. des betreffenden Fachbereiches (an der Freien Universität) können Sie sich darüber informieren, ob Sie die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für Ihr Wunsch-Promotionsfach erfüllen. Bitte beachten Sie: Die Rechte von Betreuerinnen/Betreuern, Dissertationen zu begutachten, hängen von der jeweiligen Promotionsordnung der Fakultät bzw. des Fachbereichs ab.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in den FAQ.