Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ancient Languages and Texts (ALT)

The doctoral program "Ancient Languages and Texts" focuses on the written heritage of ancient cultures which includes literary works as well as documentary texts like inscriptions and papyri. Also research is carried out into phenomena of mediality such as the interaction between texts and pictorial representations. In this line of inquiry, traditional philological methods are being combined with historical and cultural issues. In addition to that, particular emphasis is placed on theories and approaches of modern literary studies and linguistics.

Thus the doctoral program is characterized by a plurality of methods and a wide understanding of the concept of a ‘text’, while the interdependence of text, culture and knowledge in their historical conditionality is a focus of interest in all of the program research. This approach takes up the successful tradition of literary study of antiquity in Berlin.

Numerous libraries as well as the text corpora and editorial projects of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften offer ideal conditions for the study and analysis of languages and texts from ancient cultures.

Members of the managing committee

Prof. Dr. Markus Witte (HU) (chairman)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Esders (FUB)
Prof. Dr. Melanie Möller (FUB)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Hallof (BBAW/HU) (permanent guest)
Dr. Carmen Marcks-Jacobs (academic associate and coordinator)
Anna Gehler-Rachůnek M.A. (FUB) (student representative)
Maya Prodanova M.A. (HU) (dep. student representative)

Departments and institutes connected with the doctoral program

Freie Universität Berlin

 

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Information on requirements for admission as a doctoral student in your chosen field can be obtained from the relevant doctoral office (Promotionsbüro) of the relevant faculty (at the Humboldt-Universität) or department (at the Freie Universität). Please bear in mind: the doctorate regulations of the relevant faculty/department determine whether persons chosen to act as supervisor are eligible to serve as reviewers of the dissertation.

You can find more information in the FAQ.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ancient Languages and Texts (ALT)

Im Zentrum des Promotionsprogramms "Ancient Languages and Texts" steht das schriftliche Erbe der antiken Kulturen, das nicht nur die literarischen Werke, sondern gleichermaßen dokumentarische Texte wie Inschriften und Papyri umfasst. Ebenso werden Phänomene der Medialität erforscht, beispielsweise die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Texten und bildlichen Darstellungen. Dabei verbinden sich mit den traditionellen philologischen Methoden historische und kulturelle Fragestellungen. Großes Gewicht wird außerdem auf Theorien und Ansätze der modernen Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft gelegt.

Das Promotionsprogramm zeichnet sich also durch die Pluralität der Methoden und einen weiten Textbegriff aus, während sich das gemeinsame Interesse auf die Interdependenz von Text, Kultur und Wissen in ihrer historischen Bedingtheit richtet. Dieser Ansatz greift die erfolgreiche Tradition der altertumswissenschaftlichen Textdisziplinen in Berlin auf.

Zahlreiche Bibliotheken sowie die Textcorpora und Editionsvorhaben der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) bieten beste Bedingungen, um Sprachen und Texte des Altertums in einem weiten Horizont Spektrum zu untersuchen.

Geschäftsführende Kommission

Prof. Dr. Markus Witte (Beauftragter)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Esders (FUB)
Prof. Dr. Melanie Möller (FUB)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Hallof (BBAW/HU) (ständiger Gast)
Dr. Carmen Marcks-Jacobs (akademische Mitarbeiterin und Koordinatorin)
Anna Gehler-Rachůnek M.A. (FUB) (studentische Vetreterin)
Maya Prodanova M.A. (HU) (stellv. studentische Vetreterin)

Mit dem Promotionsprogramm verbundene Institute und Seminare

Freie Universität Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Die Promotionsbüros der Fakultäten (an der Humboldt-Universität) bzw. der Fachbereiche (an der Freien Universität) informieren über die jeweiligen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für das gewünschte Promotionsfach. Bitte beachten Sie: Ob die gewünschten Betreuerinnen und Betreuer berechtigt sind, die Dissertationen zu begutachten, hängt von der Promotionsordnung der jeweiligen Fakultät bzw. des jeweiligen Fachbereichs ab.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in den FAQ.