Springe direkt zu Inhalt

In 2022, the Berliner Antike-Kolleg (BAK) is reaching out to the collaborative ancient studies research community in Berlin and Brandenburg with an annual theme for the first time.

In doing so, the BAK is responding to a general trend, one that is also reflected in a growing number of calls for proposals and funding formats: the increasingly widespread demand for greater cooperation, transparency and participation in all fields of research.

Contact

Friederike Herklotz ( friederike.herklotz@berliner-antike-kolleg.org )

As part of its Science Year 2022 initiative, Germany’s Federal Ministry of Education and Research has invited all members of the public to frame questions they would like to pose to researchers. The initiative is intended to give rise to a mutually enriching process: its aim is "to strengthen citizen participation in scientific and political development processes and open up new cutting-edge fields for research and research policy."

The Berlin University Alliance supports transdisciplinary research formats and calls specifically for them, most recently in the call for proposals for its Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health. Transdisciplinarity is understood as an integrative and cooperative research approach requiring both partners from the sphere of research and academia and partners who are explicitly not part of that sphere. Ideally, the research questions should be oriented towards issues of relevance for society and should tackle problems in collaborative discourse among equal partners: "Transdisciplinarity aims at mutual learning". The BUA is also providing targeted support for innovative exchange formats in connection with its focus on knowledge exchange (science communication); here, the aim is "a multidirectional process through which scientific ideas and research results are carried outward and external perspectives and experiences flow back into research."

Transdisciplinarity is also an important component of the restructuring and transformational processes underway in tertiary education. The approach is at the centre of current epistemological debates (see, for instance, Handbuch transdisziplinäre Didaktik, open access).

In recognition of all this, BAK invites the ancient studies community to participate in the creative exploration of, and creative innovation in relation to its 2022/2023 annual theme: "Active Voices – Transdisciplinarity and Participation in Ancient Studies!

"Active Voices" is an appeal to join in on a conversation and enable other people to participate in it as well. How is ancient studies positioned with respect to this new form of transdisciplinarity? What does the call to integrate societal groups that are non-scientific and non-academic as research partners mean for the design of future research questions and projects? Which groups are to be addressed, and what are these groups asking ancient studies and/or what do they want from ancient studies? How does one find non-academic research partners and how does one go about designing collaborative research projects ensuring that researchers and groups and organisations from civil society and the political and business spheres engage together as equal partners? What cooperative research projects of this kind are already underway and what experiences are they able to share? In which areas does the greatest potential lie for pro-active attempts by ancient studies researchers and organisations wishing to propose themselves as transdisciplinary partners in research?

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Mit!Reden – Transdisziplinarität und Partizipation in den Altertumswissenschaften

Das Berliner Antike-Kolleg (BAK) richtet sich im Jahr 2022 zum ersten Mal mit einem Jahresthema an die altertumswissenschaftliche Verbundforschung in Berlin-Brandenburg.

Anlass ist ein allgemeiner Trend, der auch in Ausschreibungen und Förderformaten zunehmend spürbar ist: es ist eine allgemeine Forderung nach mehr Kooperation, Transparenz und Teilhabe in allen Bereichen der Wissenschaft.

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung ruft im Wissenschaftsjahr 2022 alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger auf "ihre Fragen an die Wissenschaft zu formulieren". Daraus soll ein gegenseitig befruchtender Prozess entstehen: Ziel ist es "die Beteiligung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger an wissenschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungsprozessen zu stärken und neue Zukunftsfelder für Forschung und Forschungspolitik zu erschließen".

Die Berlin University Alliance fördert und fordert gezielt transdisziplinäre Forschungsformate, zuletzt in den Ausschreibungen zum Grand Challenge Thema "Global Health". Transdisziplinarität wird als integrative und kooperierende Forschung von wissenschaftlichen Akteur:innen und ausdrücklich nicht-wissenschaftlichen Partner:innen verstanden. Im Idealfall orientieren sich Forschungsfragen an gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen und Problemen, deren Lösung im gemeinschaftlichen Diskurs auf Augenhöhe angestrebt wird: "Transdisziplinarität zielt auf das gegenseitige Lernen ab". Auch in der Wissenschaftskommunikation ("Knowledge Exchange") werden gezielt innovative Austauschformate gefördert: Ziel ist ein "multidirektionaler Prozess, durch den wissenschaftliche Ideen und Forschungsergebnisse nach außen getragen werden und externe Perspektiven und Erfahrungen in die Forschung zurückfließen".

Transdisziplinarität ist zudem eine wichtige Komponente aktueller Umstrukturierungs- und Transformationsprozesse in der Hochschulbildung und Kern aktueller wissenschaftstheoretischer Debatten (vergl. z.B. "Handbuch transdisziplinäre Didaktik", open access).

Das BAK greift diesen Themenkomplex auf und lädt die altertumswissenschaftliche Community ein, in diesem Jahr an der kreativen Auseinandersetzung und Ideenschmiede zum Thema "Mit!Reden – Transdisziplinarität und Partizipation in den Altertumswissenschaften" teilzunehmen.

"Mit!Reden" ist eine Aufforderung, miteinander zu reden und Mitreden zu ermöglichen: Wo stehen die Altertumswissenschaften in Bezug auf diese neue (?) Art der Transdisziplinarität? Was bedeutet die Forderung nach Integration nicht-wissenschaftlicher oder nicht-akademischer Gruppen der Gesellschaft für die Gestaltung zukünftiger Forschungsfragen und Projekte? Welche Gruppen sind angesprochen und welchen Anspruch bzw. Bedarf richten sie an die Altertumswissenschaften? Wie findet man nicht-akademische Forschungspartner:innen und wie lassen sich Forschungspartnerschaften auf Augenhöhe mit Gruppen und Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft, Politik oder Wirtschaft gestalten? Wo finden bereits heute kooperierende Forschungen mit entsprechenden Akteur:innen statt und welche Erfahrungen können sie teilen? In welchen Bereichen könnten sich die Altertumswissenschaften proaktiv alstransdiziplinäre Partner einbringen?

In diesem Jahr möchte das BAK diesen Themenkomplex gemeinsam mit den Forschenden der Altertumswissenschaften sowie mit Nicht-Wissenschaftler:innen und transdisziplinären Expert:innengenauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Mit Diskussionen, Best-Practice-Beispielen, Workshops und Förderangeboten wollen wir die kreative Auseinandersetzung mit innovativen Möglichkeiten und Formaten der transdisziplinären Forschung und Partizipation in den Altertumswissenschaften anregen und unterstützen.