Springe direkt zu Inhalt

August-Boeckh-Antikezentrum

The August-Boeckh-Antikezentrum (ABAZ) initiates and coordinates interdisciplinary research and teaching activities and projects in the fields of classical studies and related disciplines within Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

The ABAZ seeks to promote dialog between antiquity and modernity within the university community, bridging the two with lectures and discussion series, workshops on topics like digitalization in ancient studies, interdisciplinary courses and international cooperation projects as well as in its activities for school children and its support of a Studierendenkolleg, a forum for exchange and joint activities run by and for university students.

The ABAZ is being integrated into the Berliner Antike-Kolleg (BAK)

As a way of concentrating resources and to increase the center’s reach throughout Berlin, the governing bodies of the ABAZ and the BAK have decided to integrate the center into the BAK. Professor Philip van der Eijk, a BAK spokesperson since 2019, is supporting the merger process, which is expected to continue through 31 December 2020. The successful formats used by the ABAZ in the past years will be retained within the new structures.

On the ABAZ’s history and August-Boeckh, for whom the center was named

The ABAZ was founded in 2005 as an interdisciplinary center at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, along with SFB 644 “Transformationen der Antike” (Collaborative Research Centre “Transformations of Antiquity”). The center played an active role in the establishment of the Excellence Cluster Topoi in 2007.

The ABAZ takes its name from August Boeckh (1785–1867), one of the first classicists at what was then the University of Berlin. In his publications and lectures, particularly those published posthumously in Encyklopädie und Methodologie der philologischen Wissenschaften, Boeckh advocated the comprehensive study of antiquity in its entirety, thus becoming one of the founding fathers of the interdisciplinary approach to ancient studies.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

August-Boeckh-Antikezentrum

Das August-Boeckh-Antikezentrum (ABAZ) initiiert und koordiniert interdisziplinäre Aktivitäten und Projekte in Forschung und Lehre in den klassischen Altertumswissenschaften und benachbarten Disziplinen innerhalb der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Es sucht den Dialog zwischen Antike und Moderne in der Universitätsöffentlichkeit. Diese Brücke stellt es mit Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden, Workshops zu Fragen der Digitalisierung in den Altertumswissenschaften, interdisziplinären Lehrveranstaltungen, internationalen Kooperationen und in der Arbeit mit Schülerinnen und Schülern sowie dem selbstorganisierten Studierendenkolleg her.

Das ABAZ wird in das Berliner Antike-Kolleg (BAK) integriert

Um Ressourcen zu bündeln und den Aktivitäten des Zentrums eine berlinweite Ausstrahlung zu geben, haben der Zentrumsrat und der Vorstand des BAK beschlossen, das ABAZ in das BAK zu integrieren. Den Prozess der Verschmelzung, der bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 dauern soll, begleitet Professor Philip van der Eijk, der seit 2019 Sprecher des BAK ist. Die bewährten Formate, mit denen das ABAZ in den letzten Jahren operierte, werden auch in den neuen Strukturen erhalten bleiben.

Zur Geschichte und dem Namensgeber des Antikezentrums

2005 wurde das ABAZ als Interdisziplinäres Zentrum der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zeitgleich mit dem SFB 644 "Transformationen der Antike" gegründet. Das Zentrum war 2007 auch an der Begründung des Excellence Cluster Topoi beteiligt.

Benannt ist das Zentrum nach August Boeckh (1785–1867), einem der ersten Altertumswissenschaftler an der damaligen Berliner Universität. In seinen Vorlesungen und Publikationen, insbesondere der Encyklopädie und Methodologie der philologischen Wissenschaften, befürwortete Boeckh das umfassende Studium der Antike in ihrer Gesamtheit und war somit ein Begründer der Interdisziplinarität in den Altertumswissenschaften.